?>
GTX0 NewestRepliesHottestMy Active
NIFE UpdatesRoadmapRequests | HelpDiscuss Game Worlds



A few companies aren't doing a full conference this year but there's still plenty going on we can watch as a site. All Australlian times are actually the next day for them, I'm including them incase Orion wants to join us (if he even can given some of these times).

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

8th June
EA Livestream - 9:30 AM PT // 12:30 PM ET // 5:30 PM BST // 2:30 AM AEST

9th June
Microsoft - 1:00 PM PT // 4:00 PM ET // 9:00 PM BST // 6:00 AM AEST

Bethesda - 5:30 PM PT // 8:30 PM ET // 1:30 AM BST (6/10) // 10:30 AM AEST

Digital Revolver - 7:00 PM PT // 10:00 PM ET // 3:00 AM BST (6/10) // 12:00 PM AEST

10th June
PC Gaming Show - 10:00 AM PT // 1:00 PM ET // 6:00 PM BST // 5:00 AM AEST

Ubisoft - 1:00 PM PT // 4:00 PM ET // 9:00 PM BST // 6:00 AM AEST

Squire Enix - 6:00 PM PT // 9:00 PM ET // 2:00 AM BST (6/11) // 11:00 AM

11th June
Nintendo Direct - 9:00 AM PT // 12:00 PM ET // 5:00 PM BST // 2:00 AM AEST

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

If I am around I'll make a thread in advance. Some of these are happening at times when I won't be around but I know in previous years you guys have just made them yourselves. Also feel free to make threads for other events that are happening, these are just "the big ones" but there are lots of other streams going on that show off specific games and whatnot throughout the event that you can put up.

If you don't know how to make a thread to watch them then it's really easy. Just start a new thread and then under "Attachments" click on "Stream Media" and then in there put a URL to a video. YouTube, Twitch and other common video sites work.

There are 33 Replies
Page:
1 2 3 4 Load all posts
settingsSettings

I should be around for most of the conferences.

Posted June 8th by Vandy

...wait a minute, where the hell is Sony?

Posted June 8th by Black Yoshi

They're one of the companies not doing a conference :(

Posted June 8th by Moonray

I should be around for all of these, with the exception of the one that happened today.

Posted June 8th by Xhin
Xhin
Nature is beautiful

This is the first year that I missed out on the bulk of the directs. (Doesnt appear that I missed out on anything important)

Pretty cool to see that the Switch is getting Witcher 3. I can only imagine what the final release will look like.

Anything catch any ones eye?

Posted June 11th by S.O.H.
S.O.H.
 

Anything catch any ones eye?

No More Heroes 3. I'm pumped. Of course for Smash as well.

Other than that I'm content to wait a while. Luigi's Mansion 3 looks good as well but I still haven't played the second one.

Posted June 11th by Fox Forever

Links Awakening looks great. Cute looking game.

Posted June 11th by S.O.H.
S.O.H.
 



Posted June 11th by Vandy

Can't believe banjo is in! Only saw the first 3 min of the direct.

No more dedicated threads?

Posted June 11th by ShadowFox08

You can make one of course. I have been too busy.

Posted June 11th by Vandy

Im not free till thursday afternoon I am assuming all the directs are over by then. (man this time last year I was swimming in free time)

Posted June 11th by S.O.H.
S.O.H.
 

Only saw the first 3 min of the direct.
at least you caught the best part then



MY BOYS ARE COMIN' TO SMASH BABY

Posted June 11th by Pirate_Ninja

Sora and Spyro should be the final two in.

Posted June 11th by Weid man

no and no

Posted June 11th by Pirate_Ninja

I'm hoping Banjo in smash would help us get Rare Replay on the Switch. That would be a god send.

Other than that.. This direct was good. A lot of things i wasn't expecting. Nintendo has a solid 1st party lineup this year and next year, and it was smart to push back animal crossing to next year, cause we already had pokemon coming out in the fall with some new IPs in between before that. Zelda BOTW sequel I'm guessing will be a 2021 release, which is fine.. give me skyward sword remake next year!

Res Evil 5/6, Alien Isolation, Witcher 3, Spyro Trilogy are nice, despite a few years old, it's good. Hopefully we get more 3rd party ports coming in this year.. like cod. Surprised no bayonetta 3.

Can anyone else say Nintendo is the best console for rpgs, specifically JRPGs? It's over saturated.

Anyway, games I"ll likely buy this year: Dragon Quest Builders 2, LoZ:Link's Awakening. I'll wait and see on Daemon X Machina, Dragon Quest 11, and Astral Chain based on reviews and how many games I have left in my backlog by the end of the year. \ Can't wait for NMH3 also, but that' snext year.

Posted June 12th by ShadowFox08

I dont want to clog the forum with more E3 stuff but I found some quick videos of Nintendos and Microsofts directs.






they both look like they had good directs. Nothing on the Microsoft side interests me personally. But Nintendo is really hitting it out of the park witht the switch. It will be very interesting to visit the Switch again at the end of its life time.

Posted June 12th by S.O.H.
S.O.H.
 

it was smart to push back animal crossing to next year, cause we already had pokemon coming out in the fall with some new IPs in between before that.

except they should also delay pokemon so that it's actually done right

Posted June 12th by Pirate_Ninja

except they should also delay pokemon so that it's actually done right


whats wrong with it

Posted June 12th by S.O.H.
S.O.H.
 

naturally, they're adding another load of pogeys for the new region. And as usual, there will be older-gen critters to find as well (we've seen things like Bewear, Raichu, Gyarados, Bunnelby, Machoke, etc) to round out the regional pokedex (I don't think they've said how many there will be in total).

...and that's all you get. You can transfer your existing monster pals to Sword and Shield only if they appear in that regional dex. With over 900 in total, this presumably means that hundreds of pokemon won't just be uncatchable, but straight-up can't appear at all in the big 3D adventure that fans have wanted for well over a decade.

so a lot of people are kinda ticked off and saying things like "don't rush the game, delay it if you have to but put in the work to do it right"


(idk if anything else is riling people up, but that's what I had in mind)

Posted June 12th by Pirate_Ninja

I see. While I understand the slogan for the series is "Gotta Catch em all" I personally have no issue with them omitting a couple hundred pokemon.

Realistically from what ive seen people stick with the same generic teams when it comes to batteling competively. This kinda forces players to mix things up and experiment with the new monsters.

For me I can really go either way. Im one of those that spams surf and earthquake with a swampert so take my opinion with a grain of salt.

Posted June 13th by S.o.h.
S.o.h.
 

Well, that's a bit of a disappointment. It's my first time hearing about this. Maybe they'll do a Sword and Shield 2 in the future like they did with Black and White? I'm not a big fan of the overall designs of the game, but that's just my opinion.

I'm looking forward to that Tales of Arise game and FF7 Remake, NNK Remaster, and anything else I may have missed. Trails of Cold Steel 3 gets a new release date, which is also exciting.

Edited June 13th by Castrael

As long as Eevee and all of the Eeveelutions are in then I don't care about this problem!

But it is a bit meh, people should have the freedom to use whatever Pokémon they want. I can only assume the reason they've done it is because they didn't want to animate all the models for wandering around in the wild area and they've previously implied that catching a Pokémon in max ultra epic super raid unlocks it to appear in the wild area so it's possible that having "caught" a Pokémon would trigger it to appear... It has to be because of some game mechanic or design aspect somewhere, there's no way they just randomly decided we can't use them.

Posted June 13th by Moonray

I like a lot of Pokemon but I would be strangely okay if they only kept poliwhirl and its evolutionary line.

Posted June 13th by S.o.h.
S.o.h.
 

The Pokemon news is heartbreaking.

Some may not realize this, but it is absolutely possible to bring third generation Pokemon all the way up through the seventh. I have a Porygon 2 and Pinsir that I've been using for a decade and a half, and they've seen everything from Fire Red through Alpha Sapphire. I haven't played the most recent generation, but there's always been the probability that I eventually will. For the new games, however, this is a dealbreaker. I always looked forward to how I was going to personalize my new team, often with monsters not native to that game or region. For one run I'll import a Qwilfish, and in another I'll breed myself a genetically advantaged Girafarig. To be honest I could create an entire team out of obscure, second gen single evolution Pokemon (only a fool underestimates Stantler) and the moment I realize that the weird critter I happen to want that week is no longer supported by the software is the moment that I am no longer on board.

But hey, at least Fire Emblem: Three Houses had a good trailer, and it seem to have energized the community in a way that last the first couple did not. It's still... very anime, but in some ways Fire Emblem always was. It's just that the sophistication of modern technology (and voice acting) make it more obvious. It doesn't appear to be pandering the way Fates was though, and since they recaptured so much of the magic in Shadows of Valentia I have no reason to believe that they would be incapable to translating that into a modern Switch game.


Edited June 13th by Famov

Aside from some footage of Link's Awakening, Pokemon, Zelda BotW2 and Animal Crossing (boo delay), I thought Nintendo's E3 Direct was pretty lame =X

Posted June 13th by MC2009
MC2009
 

I had to google the pokemon famov mentioned.



am I really this out of touch?


No! Its the trainers who are wrong.

Posted June 13th by s.o.h.
s.o.h.
 

There's like 900 Pokémon now. Only the most dedicated can remember 'em all.

I tend to stick to Gen 1 or 2 Pokémon if I'm not doing an eeveelution party, though there's been some cool Pokémon in later gens that I'll incorporate.

Posted June 13th by Moonray

except they should also delay pokemon so that it's actually done right

Yeah, but then Nintendo would be fucked for a big holiday game release. I personally don't mind if they delayed it, but Nintendo would be missing out significantly on sales for a holiday release, and their stuck would plummet from shareholders too(kind of dumb they dropped when shareholders heard AC got pushed to Q1 2020).

...and that's all you get. You can transfer your existing monster pals to Sword and Shield only if they appear in that regional dex. With over 900 in total, this presumably means that hundreds of pokemon won't just be uncatchable, but straight-up can't appear at all in the big 3D adventure that fans have wanted for well over a decade.

so a lot of people are kinda ticked off and saying things like "don't rush the game, delay it if you have to but put in the work to do it right"

I think what's going to happen is that we'll get data for all +900 pokemon eventually, and that it will come out in waves like Poemon Go. Hopefully not as paid DLC. This is Nintendo's first stab at 1000 pokemon models in HD with various animations for each one.. It's going to take them so much longer than the 3DS titles.

Edited June 14th by ShadowFox08

This is Nintendo's first stab at 1000 pokemon models in HD with various animations for each one.. It's going to take them so much longer than the 3DS titles.


I'm 99% sure that people discovered Sun & Moon had HD textures and/or better quality models in the game for all the Pokémon and there were mods to make them usable (with a performance but as you'd expect).

So unless I am remembering something else, they should have most of the work done?

Edited June 14th by Moonray

I also read Sword and Shield will remove Mega Evolutions and Z Moves in favour of the Dynamax mechanic.

Which is I believe the first time a battle mechanic (and two at that) has been removed entirely from the actual battling gameplay loop.

I mean, Mega Evolutions and Z Moves were never the be-all and end-all, but depending on your playstyle they were nice additions. And perhaps it would be difficult to balance all three together (although they managed to balance everything before this Gen relatively well, so I find that to be slightly spurious reasoning). I wasn't impressed at all by the Dynamax mechanic (which seems incredibly lazy) and to remove features rather than add is something I am never all that comfortable with.

Like Famov, I also have been trading forward from Gen III when I can, although I always play a main team with that Gen's Pokémon. Coupled with this whole Dex mechanic of arbitrarily limiting the National Dex because of rather unclear reasons (which I still can't really ascertain from press releases), I may actually give this Gen a pass, just as I did with Let's Go, if Gamefreak are unable to expand the scope of the game. It's looking pretty flaky so far.

Posted June 14th by Arch
Arch
 

This is Nintendo's first stab at 1000 pokemon models in HD with various animations for each one.. It's going to take them so much longer than the 3DS titles.

Considering they've just been using the same models, animations and walk cycles since X and Y (a 2013 game), with iterative updates, this isn't really an excuse.

I can understand budget restraints, if it was a case of "it's because of the crunch", it might be more understandable. Which brings us back to PN's point about taking their time to ensure a quality release.

Also, with the release of Pokémon Home, which is clearly geared towards long time players, it feels like a slap in the face; advertise a service, which you have to pay for, to hold on to all your legacy Pokémon in the cloud - oh, and by the way, you can't use them in the next mainline release, gg no re.

Perhaps it it will be waves of DLC-esque updates to allow for regional Dex increases, but Christ, this is a pretty poor show for hardware which is meant to be more powerful than the 3DS.

Posted June 14th by Arch
Arch
 

The beautiful part is that the masses will still gubble this new entry up like the swine they are.

Posted June 14th by S.o.h.
S.o.h.
 

dynamax seemed more or less like a remake of mega evolution anyway (though less interesting? Being able to change your type and strengths was better than what sounds like GET BIG FOR THREE TURNS WHOAMG GRAPHIX)

I think what's going to happen is that we'll get data for all +900 pokemon eventually, and that it will come out in waves like Poemon Go. Hopefully not as paid DLC. This is Nintendo's first stab at 1000 pokemon models in HD with various animations for each one.. It's going to take them so much longer than the 3DS titles.

secondhand information, but from what I've heard they outright said they wouldn't be updating the roster (it'd be nice if that kind of information wasn't buried within a lengthy video of demo play after the main presentation)

Posted June 14th by Pirate_Ninja
Load next page Load rest of pages
Reply to: E3 2019 Schedule
Enter your message here

Site Rules | Complaints Process | Give Feedback Facebook Page
GTX0 © 2009-2019 Xhin GameTalk © 1999-2008 lives on